My comments and other Points

My comments are:

Fight or Flight by Drew

We are not American citizens…We are WORLD citizens… by Kristin
Army Strong by Jesse

135,000 Dead in Dresden* by Drew

not your regular old summer camp

Military Suicides by Jesse”>

Make it real again…make it face to face by Aaron

Coming to Terms by Drew

(and to Eric);
After 18 Years, We Can Finally See the Dead-by Eric

In addition to a response to Meghan that was, for some reason, never moderated and it is below:

Interesting post, Meghan. I believe it necessary to focus on the emotional state of those who lose their beloved in the war. I guess what makes this a curious thing is the way these people would handle their loss to go on in life. Obviously, in Dena’s case, Dena relied on the belief that Rob (her husband) died doing what “he loved,” which is interesting, because I view this as an admiration of his determination in doing what he has a passion for, which, in its tern, can mean that he had at least achieved what he wanted before dying (served his country in this case)? Of course, the poem argues the point of heroism, regarding (those who die for their countries) as heroes. I, nonetheless, still struggling to understand what makes the death of ‘heroes’ different from the death of others? Death is death (a loss of a beloved, that is). In other words, is it the death for one’s country (for others ‘sacrifice’) that makes him or her a hero, and thus, makes his or her loss easier to endure, or is it because those who are in the military run the possibility of dying, and thus, their friends and families are emotionally prepared for their death if it happened? I guess I am now speaking more philosophy than literature, so I will stop at this point, with my main point which is: is it the sacrifice for others (for the country) that makes one a hero, and thus, his or her loss easier to accept, or is it because the families of those who get killed in the war are emotionally prepared for their death, and thus, are better at coping with their loss if it happens?
-Moe Fawaz

And a post for “Say you Want a Revolution that was, also, never moderated for some reason and it is pasted below:

” That is a valid comparison, which I found so interesting. It is strange how we can condemn the atrocities of the Nazis while allowing other similar crimes to be committed at this time (and commit them too). We must not, after all, forget the torture the US military is doing (and especially in Gittmo and in the Secret prisons around the world). While denouncing the crimes in Sudan, therefore, we must condemn ourselves for all we are and have been doing against humanity. Sadly, too, there are many other crimes that are being committed today, in Gaza (that has no water, food or medicine), in many parts of Africa—just heard about the US suspending Aid to Madagascar because the opposition took over control of the country. Similarly, Sudan acted upon the arrest warrant against their president, by barring the UN aid from reaching people in Darfur, claiming they will do the job. I, therefore, see no difference between the crimes being committed in Sudan and those that we are committing due to political reasons. Very sad situation indeed that we condemn that past and yet repeat it. While we now study about the concentration camps, there are many concentration camps today, and most of them are there because we made them (or supported them) due to political interests and so on. What does it, for example, do to suspend aid to a country because the opposition took control? Such proves that aid was being provided to the president who was loyal to the US, and when a new president comes, there is no need to support him. I, therefore, doubt that such aid was reaching people anyway, it was evidently reaching the president and his supporters to sustain them against the opposition. It’s sad, but I believe that this, too, is like a concentration camp that we just created.”

This class was super interesting, I must say, as it enabled me to see how students in GVSU view war in general. As Lebanese, I have always wanted to see the response of real (real Americans)—people whom I can interact with and verify that I am not just viewing the wrong sources. Every time I read a class mate’s blog, I found myself better understanding what is exactly going on. I can declare that I now realize that media is much more powerful that I ever thought it was. I mean, I always realized the power of media, but after taking this class, I am realizing it is much more powerful and influential. I am saying this because throughout this class, I did not notice too many posts about Gaza, but read many about Sudan. Why was this the case? Simply because media wants the world (the west) never to look to Gaza—to the crimes that are being committed by the powerful. Therefore, they (media) only talks about Sudan, and presents the situation as super simple. They only blame the Sudanese president for the massacres that are being committed in Darfur, but never explain who is motivating, financing and arming the separatists in Darfur that is rich of natural resources. They keep telling us how Iran supports Hamas (‘and that is a crime’), Why then do they not declare the powers who arm militias in Sudan?
If these powers cared this much for these victims in Sudan (they are victims and massacres in there outrage me), why then, do they not care for the people in Gaza who are being killed and starved on daily bases? (See):

UN to Israel: Ease ‘devastating’ Gaza blockade – Haaretz – Israel News

Who, for example, have heard of what the ‘powerful’ is doing in Somalia? I was yesterday reading
You are being Lied to About Pirates

“… mysterious European ships started appearing off the coast of Somalia, dumping vast barrels into
the ocean. The coastal population began to sicken. At first they suffered strange rashes, nausea and malformed babies. Then, after the 2005 tsunami, hundreds
of the dumped and leaking barrels washed up on shore. People began to suffer from radiation sickness, and more than 300 died. Ahmedou Ould-Abdallah, the
UN envoy to Somalia, tells me: “Somebody is dumping nuclear material here. There is also lead, and heavy metals such as cadmium and mercury – you name
it.” Much of it can be traced back to European hospitals and factories, who seem to be passing it on to the Italian mafia to “dispose” of cheaply. When
I asked Ould-Abdallah what European governments were doing about it, he said with a sigh: “Nothing. There has been no clean-up, no compensation, and no
prevention.”

I believe this because I know in Lebanon–late 90s early 200s, similar scandal was revealed, but was instantly fought and stopped.
Believe me, it’s all about media, and such articles would never make it to mainstream media such as AP, CNN, Fox or ABC.

Blogging for this class, therefore, enabled me to both better understand how Americans view war and realize the true power of media.
Throughout this semester, my comments aimed to shed the light on several points regarding war, and particularly the media biases. I always tried to point out hypocrisy in this world, and how certain crimes are condemned while others are either forgotten (or supported); I tried to focus on the emotional effect of war; they way it affects its victims, children, women and men.

Leave a Reply

